‘It’s because I had my period’: swimmer Fu Yuanhui praised for breaking taboo

Chinese sports fans used social media to praise Fu over her frank remarks about her menstrual cycle after her team came fourth in a relay

Fu Yuanhui, who won a bronze medal in the 100m, has proved a bright spot in a so far disappointing Olympics for China.

Chinese swimming sensation Fu Yuanhui has earned plaudits back home for breaking the sporting taboo of discussing menstruation.

Fu, whose theatrical post-race interviews have transformed her into a national hero in China, made her remarks on Sunday after her team came in fourth place in the 4x100m medley relay.

“I don’t think I performed very well today. I feel I let my teammates down,” a visibly pained Fu told state-broadcaster CCTV in a brief poolside conversationfollowing the race.

Asked whether she was suffering from stomach pains, the 20-year-old swimmer said her period had started the previous day. “It’s because my period came yesterday, so I felt particularly tired – but this isn’t an excuse, I still didn’t swim well enough,” she said.

Διαβάστε τη συνέχεια εδώ https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2016/aug/16/chinese-swimmer-fu-yuanhui-praised-for-breaking-periods-taboo

Σχολιάστε

